Who am I?

My name is Martina Isabella Gutierrez, and I am a first year student at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. I am an international student, originally from Bolivia and Germany. I am 19 years old, and I’m very excited for you to get to know me!

I graduated from the American International School of Johannesburg, South Africa, with an IB and High School Diploma.

A little bit about my life!

I was born in Bolivia, with a Bolivian and German passport. Soon after, I moved to Ghana with my family, where I lived for two years. I then moved to Tanzania, where I spent most of my childhood; I was there for seven and a half years. Most recently, I lived in South Africa, where I graduated and spent some of the most important years of my life. Ready for a new adventure, I decided to attend UNC Chapel Hill for university, where I will be spending the next four years of my life.

What do I do, and what do I want to do?

I am a first-year student pursuing a double major in Business Administration with a concentration in marketing and Media and Journalism with a concentration in Advertising and Public Relations. In the future, I want to work in either sports marketing or business management. My dream is to be the marketing or advertising director for a big company like Nike or Coca Cola, and I think UNC is the perfect place to start that dream. In my first year I’ve been able to take classes that have further molded my interest for these fields and I’m very excited to see what I continue learning in the coming years.

What are my hobbies, passions, and aspirations?

My whole life I’ve been very into sports and it is probably my biggest passion. In high school, I was a three-sport varsity athlete in soccer, basketball, and volleyball. I highly value an all-around education so I was also the marketing president of the high school newspaper, the president of the Service Learning Executive Council, and the Deputy-Secretary General of the Johannesburg Model United Nations in South Africa.

Fun facts about me
  • I’ve been to 36 countries and counting!
  • I speak 3 languages fluently (Spanish, English, French)
  • An elephant has bitten me.
Everything I love
  • Food: italian
  • Animal: Dolphin
  • Drink: Water
  • Country: Spain
  • Color: Blue
What I’m up to now
  • I work at UNC campus rec.
  • I’m an intern for UNC sports marketing.
  • I’m in business and service clubs.